StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Stilldragon Dash 1 Experience

Comments

• after running my dash with a recent rum wash the first two copper bubble plates n caps all turned a dark black, i'm guessing my issue is with sulfur in the wash... maybe it is something similar? (mine cleaned up easy with citric acid.)

• edited July 2013

@jonno

Whatever caused that colour, don't doubt the quality of SD parts. IMHO it's hard to imagine higher quality.

I'm still learning - but I'm also amazed at just how easy it is to drive. Definitely a good investment.

• edited July 2013

@Law_Of_Ohms

I stopped the discolouration of the lower plates & caps by adding a bunch of copper pieces to my SS boiler. Weird that the copper comes out of the hot strip (single run) looking porky pink - but it seems to do the job.

• @Stinger said: LoO

I stopped the discolouration of the lower plates & caps by adding a bunch of copper pieces to my SS boiler. Weird that the copper comes out of the hot strip (single run) looking porky pink - but it seems to do the job.

What wash is that ? I'm doing only rum, and with molasses they are getting pretty scaled.

M.

• I've placed copper in the boiler for years with ALL washes. So Far I have only run a few sour mashes with the Dash, but I still throw copper in the boiler. Haven't yet run a molasses wash through it.

The lower plates and caps do turn the light brown colour of copper that has been left on the shelf for a while. After an hour in a dish of hot back-set they are "porky pink". Try it with hot dunder Mosca.

• Received my last 4" triclamp which is fantastic! Can't wait to run this bad boy with full plates hopefully during the weekend.

With my first child due anytime now makes it hard to plan ahead with anything lol.