StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Explosion avoidance!!!

2»

Comments

• Would love to find a triclamp bursting disk setup that didn't cost a small fortune. I've been trolling for TC adjustable pressure relief valves, since they also cost a fortune, but can't seem to find anything low enough PSI.

Great point about the pneumatic valves though, I always thought they would be a big problem to try to automate, but I didn't realize they made 4-20ma pressure senders that just wire right into a PID to provide the air output right to the valve, no air lines or compressors needed.

• I am a consultant in oil and gas. Reliability and maintenance!! I think you need to split the 2 functions. You do need pressure safety valves but these can be sub 1" if you can locate them in a relatively clean area. Definitely set to a lower pressure than the bursting disc.

Normal steam or hot water PSVs should be fine for this. You can get those in ghe 1 to 6 bar range easily enough.

The bigger blow out might be harder to find but it is possible to do this function with a big vapour lock - think oversized p trap.

• I wonder what pressure a layer of aluminum foil bursts at in a TC joint? Then again, the tube in a bucket of water is real easy and self resetting...

• edited December 2014

And remember, whether you need the bigger blow out port in addition to a PSV depends on what is in the boiler. You only need it if there is a possibility of blocking the PSV. This won't apply to many folks. I used to think I would like to distill on the grain, now though I suspect I wouldn't.

And here is one final point for your consideration. Every boiler should already have 1 port capable of dealing with any content. It is called a drain.

In an overpressure situation, dumping the contents is preferable to exploding the boiler!!

• @dad said: