StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Stripping Run --> Spirit run: How to minimise wastage?

Hey Folks,

I have ~80L of wash for a 100L still, which is now at the point it's ready to go through a stripping run. Using a wash calculator, it looks like we'll end up with about 15L of spirit post stripping run. This is my first time, so i'm guessing as i've got the reflux column running, we'll be able to collect (after foreshots / heads / tails) around 12L of usable spirit for spirit run.

Question is, given that i've got a 100L still with about 12L for the spirit run, what should i add back into the collection so i can re-run it through the still? i'm worried that if i pop that 12L in, its not enough to cover the element at the bottom and i'll bugger the heating element. From memory, i think it needs about 5 or 10L at the bottom of the still to cover the element.

thanks!!

Comments

• If you're running a reflux column, you don't need to do a stripping run first. You can do it in a single pass.

If you can let us know more about the wash, your rig and what you're trying to achieve, It'll help you get better answers.

yeah 12l in a 100l still isn't enough. If you're keen on doing strips before spirit runs (typically done when running a pot still) you can save and combine several strips of the same wash to get the required volume for a spirit run to ensure that not only do you cover the elements at the start, but importantly at the end of the run they are still covered.

• Hi @crozdog, thanks for that! that is super useful info. A mate of mine was importing / exporting out of china, and we hopped on the import and grabbed one (think he paid about $3k inc onion & 4 plate column).