2022 ACSA Summary

Wood. Tooth pic chewing, popsicle stick munching wood.
Is what seems to be the path to medal success evidently?

Mind you, I am an amateur bourbon whiskey enthusiast compared to so many others.
But it seems I'll be looking forward to the pendulum swinging back towards a bit more of a balanced approach toward oaking.

I personally had a very hard time identifying any of the other layers of flavor that I personally prefer. In my mind, you have to make more than one thing reveal itself. A beginning, middle and end with all toothpick is not my idea of well crafted whiskey.

I'm confused after that outcome of medal winners in the bourbon category.

StillDragon North America - Your StillDragon® Distributor for North America

Comments

• I think it's partially due to a limited number of judges. We do ACSA to get feedback but it's always 2 judges "WOW AWESOME" and one judge "TOTAL CRAP".

Pgh did represent this year though - We (city distilleries, not us specifically) won 3 of the Best in Class awards.

For the toothpick comment - it's American whiskey in new oak. It's kinda the style. Not my thing, that's why I like Scotch and single malts. I like to taste the distillate, not the barrel.

• The wood seemed pretty excessive even for bourbon.

Had a rye that was a bit better.

• One reason I have never given up a bottle of one of my creations... correction... paid $500 for the privilege of giving one of my creations to a group of judges for a medal.... not a single one... I am a BJCP beer judge and a beer Cicerone and know what happens at competitions regarding overloading judges and their senses...

• edited July 2022

The sample tables were pretty barren this show too.

Convension fatigue or folks just too busy to attend?