StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Persimmon wash

edited October 2013 in General

I am new to distilling and this forum. I want to produce a final product simular to Drambuie. I hope to begin with a wash made from persimmons. Can anyone give me guidance on how best to proceed?

Comments

• Why persimmons? Drambuie is a liqueur made from scotch whisky which is made with a malt based wash or beer.

• Free persimmons i bet.

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• I would think that the flavour profile would be all wrong using persimmons as a base. You would end up with persimmon brandy.

• Why persimmons? Because i find the flavor of a ripe persimmon very simular to that of Drambuie. Very sweet and earthy. As i said, i know not what i am doing. I did know that scotch was a malt based liquor but I had hoped that the persimmon flavor would translate in a final poduct and add another dimension. Yes, I have an abundance of persimmons. Would persimmon brandy lend its self to being blended with honey and spices to produce a simular flavor to Drambuie after being aged in a bourbon cask? Im not really trying to reproduce Drambuie exactly....just something simular or maybe better. i really enjoy the flavor or Drambuie.

• Now there's the perfect aim, and in line with what i try to do. I don't want a recipe for Jack Daniels, just to make an American Whiskey better than i can afford to buy.

There's no reason what you want to do won't work, but it's pretty unlikely that anyone has tried to do it before, so there's only one answer :))

You may well find someone who has fermented persimmons though and they may have some hints as to the outcomes. Give it some time for people to find it. Hell we have one lunatic here that fermented radishes.