StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Reflectix Bubble Tee Jackets?

I insulated my boiler with Reflectix yesterday and got thinking about the column. So I started playing around with some scraps and came up with this insulation in a few minutes. With a little Velcro they could be easily made to be removable for cleaning. Thoughts?

image image image

1.jpg
600 x 800 - 81K
2.jpg
600 x 800 - 81K
3.jpg
600 x 800 - 103K

Comments

• needs testing, with and without, and recording data like product output flow rate, and various temperature.

Need to be able to prove its benefit.

looks great!

• edited August 2013

Thanks, LoO.

Agreed, testing is needed to get an accurate idea of the benefits. At the very least I think it would help keep the plates loaded in a cold or air conditioned environment, which is what motivated me.

I have been running a hybrid for several months but recently ordered enough parts to upgrade to a dash2. I'll go ahead and make some jackets up using this template and take them through several stripping runs and a final spirit run... Then disassemble for a good cleaning and repeat a cycle without the jackets and compare the results. Been working a ton of hours lately so this will take a while, but I'm sure it would be easy enough to compare against another users uninsulated rig.

Something keeps nagging at me though... Has this been done before for bubble tees? Sorry, I suffer from a terrible case of CRS syndrome.

• @LunaBrille, CRS syndrome is usually a side effect of information overload.
    I'm not sure if insulating the Tees will be positive or negative. Uninsulated gives a bit of passive reflux to the plates while, as you say, operating an uninsulated column in a cold environment could also pose issues.