StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Gin Flavours and Speed of Run?

OK I have had great fun so far running the SD GB with a 50L boiler filled with approx 15L water and 1.5L 95%. My output after fores/heads cut starts at 92% and ends at 40% and I get a really good tasting gin.

However as I am just a beginner I want to know more. To date I run real slow, with 3 pro plates and dephleg.. Even though manual says pot still run method I ran with 3 plates, thinking, perhaps lacking confidence, that my wash was not great, and needed distilled more. The Gin has been good tasting, but I do wonder if going slow and with higher alcohol vapours %age results in a different taste.

Does a lower ABV% at the parrot but higher output, more water in vapour, improve the flavour of botanicals coming through??

So my question really is if I run faster will my Gin taste better?? What effect does output and ABV have on taste?

Comments

• I'm interested in this too. I think the big difference will be in the temperature of the vapour that's stripping the volatiles out of your botanicals.
    High ABV vapour will be 20° cooler than a pot at the end of its run so will probably leave some components behind.
    Better or worse is a bit subjective but it's certainly worth experimenting around.

• thanks for quick reply, you have hit my point more clearly. the temp of vapour is so markedly different. The SD lets me run slow, controlled and at high ABV and I m thinking this is good. However whilst slow seems good .... am i missing out and leaving something behind??

• It can be quick with high ABV too. You just need a more efficient column.
    More plates (or a packed section) = Higher efficiency.
    So you'll get the same ABV by using a lower reflux ratio i.e. much higher output.