TPW Questions - Clearing, Stripping, etc

edited December 2013 in Recipes

OK, I'm relatively new to the TPW game. I stripped one 10 gallon batch a few weeks ago, and I've got 2 10 gallon batches of TPW in the fermenters at the moment.

The first batch I put in the primary fermenter, racked it off about a week later and then didn't get around to stripping it for about a month. It was super clear by the time I ran it and came out very clean.

How long do you usually allow for fermenting and clearing?

The 2 batches I have fermenting are 5 and 6 days old and both fermented quickly down to .990. I don't actually know how fast as I had broken my hydrometer and just picked up 2 new ones yesterday. They both read out at .990 at 4 and 5 days old, which is awesome compared to what I'm used to with brewing beer. Must have been some happy yeast.

I racked one of the batches to carboys yesterday to get it off the trub and have time to strip it tonight, but should I give it more time to clear? Does clearing more really make that much of a difference for neutral that will be stripped and the run through a hybrid dash?

Last question... How many batches of stripped product do you combine for your spirit run? I was thinking of combining 3, but even with watering it down, I should be able to fit 4 strip runs in the boiler and not run the element dry. Does adding more or less water for the spirit run make much difference in the final product?

Comments

• edited December 2013

There is a theory and practise called hydroseperation where a spirit run is watered down below 28% in order to allow easier and better seperation of the alcohol from the water.

The theory goes that ethanol and water joints are much easier to bust than ethanol/ethanol ones and so the lower the abv the more ethanol water ones you have from memory.

Somewhere in Harrys Tastylime Library is the process, but i don't remember where.