Twin Thumpers in Parallel

I'm still very new to this but in the process of taking the passion past the hobbyist aspect.

I want to produce a full flavored rum in a pretty traditional way. I was looking to build a still where there are two thumpers coming off the pot still in parallel.

Has anyone ever tried this and what were your results?

Comments

• Yes this type of arrangement is an SOP for heavy Jamaican rums.

It is quite common. However it can be considered somewhat antiquated technology as the lust for faster production / higher yields seem to have become the norm.

Plummer / Wedderburn type aromatic rums are a process that takes time to cultivate and the ministry of finance often gets in the way.

But then distilling for profit has always been about economy of scale.

StillDragon North America - Your StillDragon® Distributor for North America

• edited November 2021

Here is our basic diagram.

Rum Maker.jpg
    800 x 645 - 53K

• edited November 2021

And here is our initial iteration.

image.jpg
    600 x 600 - 32K

• edited November 2021

Some Plummer & Wedderburn background: Unraveling Plummer and Wedderburn Rums @ Cocktail Wonk

• Parallel? Two thumpers in parallel would likely operate as a thumper of larger volume with some additional problems.

The issue is, if there is any imbalance in the system: differences in vapor path restrictions or a difference in liquid level, the vapor flow will favor the single thumper that presents lower overall back pressure. You'd likely need some sort of bridge pipe between the two thumpers to ensure liquid level stays consistent between the two.

I don't know what you gain with this approach.

Two thumpers in serial (back to back) - is an entirely different thing (as Smaug mentions).

• edited December 2021

This is what one of our customers did with some SD parts, but as grim said it was in series....

12inchstillalchemy.jpg
    800 x 600 - 61K