StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Kale Wash

Hello all,

I'm a newbie incredibly interested in making googes kale wash, I've been using turbo yeast sugar washes. And I would like say balls to this sort of wash. The kale wash sound and looks absolutely awesome. Kale is one my favourite foods. I know some people will say it tastes like dog shit or worse. Lol. Sorry for the bad language. Would anybody have a step by step guide for making this from start to finish also distilling methods, I am using an airstill. Could it go through the still once? How much fores to throw away and how much to keep for consumption.

Sorry to be a bother.
Thank you in advance.

Tagged:

Comments

• SamSam
    edited August 2020

Hey @Kris_6383 welcome to the forum, I think you will find the recipe is pretty well discussed so you can just adjust the ratios and should be good to go.

I would say drop the turbo yeasts as you will never get a good clean product with them, try something like EC1118.

With the air still you probably have a couple of options, for a sugar based wash I would say strip everything then do a series of spitit runs making relatively wide cuts. Then combine your product and run again making cuts. Given the air still doesn't have a reflux column you might have to repeat the process a few times making cuts as you go, over each progressive run it will get cleaner.

Alternatively if you wanted a flavoursome vodka from say a rye mash you could strip 1 wash then put the distilate back in with the next stripping run and run again without making cuts, repeat the process 4-5 times making cuts from say run 3.

This is all assuming your airstill is similar to the 4L stillspirits one.

• edited August 2020

Thanks @Sam, yes it's the still spirits brand.

• edited August 2020

Do a search mate, I'm sure @googe posted it here. @Moonshine will probs do it for you anyway.