StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Equipment for Small Batch Distillery 3D Model

edited November 2019 in General

Hi there,

I am studying Interior Architecture and my current assignment is to design a gin distillery, tasting room and bar. (its all hypothetical)

I am trying to make a 3D model but just don't know what equipment I should be putting in it or how the layout should flow. I'm all good for the bar and tasting room stuff, but am super stuck with what to put in the distillery...

I love drinking gin, however know nothing about making it haha so any help you can offer would be very much appreciated.

The space is quite small, but it is commercial, so has to look pretty. Not home distillery.

If you could tell me the names of what I should put in and picture to go with it that would be helpful. I don't know any of the terminology...

• Maybe a link to the product so I can look up the dimensions?
  • Ceiling height?
  • How tall is a still?
  • How much floor space is needed? I have 11.8m x 10.7m to work with... so it will be very very small batch.

Thanks so much, I really appreciate it.

Comments

• edited November 2019

Hi Nina. I am not really going to answer your question but a few first principals.

To make gin you first need a very clean neutral base alcohol. Think tasteless vodka. This for a purist is made by the gin maker but can also be bought in as a neutral spirit if you can find one to your liking. ( grape neutral or grain neutral spirit )

To ferment the base wash or beer takes a number of large vessels for fermenting then a very sophisticated still to turn the ferment into a great clean spirit. So space and time also skill.