StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Grape Juice Stuck Fermentation

SamSam
edited November 2019 in General

So I put a 200L wash of grape juice concentrate in the fermenter and pitched it three days ago but am seeing no real activity...

I diluted the concentrate to an SG of 1.097, added about 80g of DAP and then re-hydrated 80g of EC 1118 in go ferm protect evolution and pitched.

Nothing much is happening, I can see a couple of bubbles if I stare really hard for a few minutes but the gravity hasn't moved at all.

I'm tempted to re-pitch with some more EC 1118 but I just feel there is something that I'm missing like the pH. I didn't check or adjust the pH as I never have and haven't had this problem before and whilst I haven't used EC 1118 before I ready that it is effective across a broad range of pH.

Any help or pointers is much appreciated as this is my first time fermenting fruit and using EC 1118 and I don't want it all to spoil.

Comments

• I have done a similar brew to this and remember major ph adjustments and aeration in the start. I also used EC1118. I was after Pisco and Raki/ ouzo. The Pisco turned out good and never got around to the raki

Will have a hunt but believe I got a lot of info from a gentleman who’s name escapes me in the raki arak thread. He had most detailed info from his runs and was from around that Lebanon area.

• Yes check the Pisco Raki Arak thread. My initial ph was 2.8 which I had to raise quite a lot. There is a fair bit of info there.

• Thanks, I might splash out on a pH probe tomorrow and see whats going on. Its not something I have had an issue with so far.

Am I right in thinking you used Calcium Carbonate to raise the pH?

• edited November 2019

Yes I did but @Grim suggested lye somewhere in that post. I remember it foamed like crazy when I used calcium carbonate but seemed to work. Just had me worried.