StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Big Project

Hey Everybody, "first time caller, long time listener" as the radio callers say.

I've been running a small 30L setup with a baby dragon for 2-3 years, and have enjoyed this forum, as well as the equipment to the fullest. First and foremost thanks for making it possible discover distilling safely and thanks for all the tips and tricks.

I work for a brewery that recently moved into a big former food processing factory ground. The production was canned food, sauces and ready meals, and there is two gigantic steam boilers (7+9 tonnes in hour!) and loads of old stainless processing plants left to dust in the corners.
Our brewery will be operational in December hopefully.

So when there's a lot of beer, steam and boilers available why not make some booze?!

I've tried to make a simple flow diagram, of the basic paths (attached) My dream is to make a steady production of whiskey as well as being able to make whatever pops into our minds (just like the freedom with StillDragon setups). I want to distill twice, and have the opportunity to run through a column.
It's starts with finished wash from our brewery in a holding tank, dosing into a wash still (combined of three 1000L vessels) These boilers are actually old dehydrators/mixers, and can go down to -1 bar pressure. So basically the strip process could potentially be under vacuum. The spirit still is made an old 1300L boiler where we want to retrofit a new copper top (the existing top has a lot of small connections) and it would be a good excuse to get some copper involved when operating in pot mode.

I was hoping to get some feedback on the paths, maybe some insights in possible benefit/cons with lowering the pressure in the strip stills.