Uneven flavour profile across cuts if no strip run

Hi,

I'm still a relative beginner to distilling with the bubble cap technology. On a couple of early rum runs, I attempted to distil in one spirit run, straight from the wash (no strip run) using 4 bubble cap tees. I found that there was almost no flavour in the hearts, where as the heads had plenty. I don't like using much heads so I've generally been a little unhappy. I figured (incorrectly) that the lack of flavour was being caused by the 4 bubble caps stripping too much out. I've even made a lemon vodka and distilled this in one run using 4 bubble caps. The 50L of wash contained flesh from about 80 lemons and I used about 20 lemon skins too, but the flavour didn't carry through much into the hearts. I've seen a number of postings on other forums with members talking about a similar issue. I just couldn't even get close to the quality I could produce with a pot still. It didn't make sense.

Due to some unrelated issues where I was burning my rum wash with the exposed elements (due to burning the unfermentable sugars), I decided to start doing lowish power strip washes first. Believing that lack of flavour in my original runs was caused by the use of 4 bubble caps, i decided to use 2 for my spirit run. Don't get me wrong, the result was good - but still not quite as good as my pot stilling.

Yesterday, I decided to give 4 bubble caps a go during my latest rum spirit run. I also used more reflux on the RC (about 25°C different between hot water temp and the head of the still). I'm really impressed by the results and the only real difference was doing a strip wash first. The hearts now have plenty of flavour. I'd make a bet that if I had stripped the lemon vodka first, I would have ended up with a much better result i.e. with flavour distributed all through the various cuts.