StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Resting spirit - options for microdistillery

Hi,

My name is Jimmy and I am a newbie to SD based in Erskineville, NSW, Australia. We are taking delivery of a SD 4 plate 120L still this week and I’m absolutely ecstatic about joining the SD community.

My gin seems to taste better with a weeks worth of resting and I am looking for options in which to rest my product before bottling. Looking initially at doing 30-60L batches as we work out the kinks.

I am wondering what the community could recommend in regards to storage vessels? There seems to be some debate about food safe plastics vs glass vs stainless steel but would like some pragmatic recommendations.

Cheers, Jimmy

Comments

• edited January 2019

We use stainless kegs.

I especially like the old style 5 gallon soda kegs - not sure these exist down there. It’s a manageable size to work with for smaller batches - all stainless - sanitary - and usually inexpensive. Usually not big enough for blending or bottling though, and for really big runs they are way too small. We must have a dozen of these around. Good for feints storage, test batches, etc etc.

We have a few converted beer kegs too - but they are more difficult to work with for 1 person.

Depending on your location - you might be able to find stainless drums economically. A nice open top drum with a locking lid is a very useful vessel to have. Have a ferrule welded to the bottom and put it on a rolling base, it’ll be one of the most useful things in the distillery.

Wine tanks are economical in larger sizes, but you’ve got to be talking about 400+ liters for the prices to start making sense.

• I believe the correct answer to be. ... It must be stored in SS containers / vessels. Plastic would melt in cases of a fire.