StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Stuck My First Ferment

Hi All,

Think I have screwed up my first ever ferment. No surprise I guess!

It was a TPW about 100l starting gravity of 1.068 but it’s been stuck on 1.020 for the last three days.

I guess it because I didn’t keep it warm enough. It, started at about 32c but slowly cooled down to about 20 during the week.

Would this be the cause? If I heat it up would it kick off again?

Comments

• Need more info. How much sugar, yeast, tomatoe paste...

• Hi Unsensibel, I used 16kg sugar, 700g tomato paste, 230ml lemon juice and 200g bakers yeast.

• How are you measuring your gravity?

• do you have a hydrometer? Only asking as refractometers won't give you accurate results when there's alcohol in the mix

• edited October 2018

Having all kinds of refractometers when I started brewing I rapidly found out they lied quite seriously. I thought I was being clever and they would be great but they are not.

• I have a hydrometer but would be hesitant to use it! It came free with a measuring cylinder and the graduations are marked on a piece of paper curled inside the stem....

Been meaning to get a real one anyway, will sort tomorrow and report back. Thanks for your help everyone.

• edited October 2018

@Dreamer said: I have a hydrometer but would be hesitant to use it! It came free with a measuring cylinder and the graduations are marked on a piece of paper curled inside the stem....

That is standard.
    Even if your hydrometer's scale is not accurate, you can use it for trending. The decrease in flotation tells the tale of conversion from sugar to alcohol. Numbers assigned to graduations are arbitrary, alcohol content-wise. It is the difference between the numbers that matters.

I'm more like I am now than I was before.