Dash SG / SGK / USG + Extra Short + Pro Versions

Hi - I'm a newbie from the UK and only came across SD after purchasing T500 - doh! I've been really pleased with the gin I've been making, but the copper column is now leaking (when cleaning). I've become aware of the discussions on the plastic components warping and I'm trying to plot a route to a decent system!

So, I'm aiming to be a small craft distiller within the next 1 to 2 years. I think a stepping stone would be the 4" Dash with 6 plates and a SS scrubber column? I'd like to make rum too. I want to invest in line with my increasing expertise rather than up front, so it would be ideal if I could run it on my T500 25L boiler initially. Will this work? I suspect I'll want to buy a 120L boiler in about 6 months or so. I realise this is pretty small but want to prove myself and a business model before going to 6" or 8" and larger boiler capacities. I guess I could then have separate stripping and spirit Stills as some have written about.

I've searched high and low on the site to try and find some detailed explanation and comparison of the differences between the various Dash columns - SG / SGK / USG / extra short / pro ... Apologies in advance if I'm overlooking the obvious! ... I notice SD North America seems to have different models. Can anyone point me in the right direction please. I'm wondering what the difference in quality alcohol is between these various Still types and what characteristics are associated with these different rig types please?

Thanks,

JT

Comments

• edited March 2018

The Dash will be way too heavy for the aluminium boiler on a T500. You could convert a beer keg to a boiler and use it for the Dash, they are generally 50l.