StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Coffee Liquer

edited March 2017 in Recipes

I just had a discussion with a mate of mine who is interested in setting up a micro distillery in Cartagena de las Indias in Colombia and we were talking about making Coffee Liqor. Does anyone have any guidance on recipe or technique on how to make a nice clean coffee liquer ??
Thanks

Comments

• edited March 2017

This works well on a home scale. It would make a good base you could play around with and simplify.

Kahlua @ AD

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• Punkin mate, your a bloody rippa.

• edited March 2017

I have been making the recipe linked to above for 7+ years now with homegrown coffee. It is difficult to keep in stock because my friends like it so much, and you have to plan three months ahead. Definitely improves with a month or three of aging. The glycerin is for mouthfeel. Watery without it.

Kahlua (commercial brand) sucks in side-by-side taste tests.

A snap (just now) of my first coffee blossoms coming on:

Coffee blossoms 2017 have started to pop.jpg
    800 x 533 - 102K

I'm more like I am now than I was before.

• I have been whipping this up for a few years now, and as kapea stated, my friends are blowing up the phone when they hear that I am making a batch. It is a great recipe. I think it was Pumpkin that suggested cutting back on the white sugar and I totally agree

• Thanks guys. Its funny in Colombia they drink huge amounts of coffee and their coffee is amazing but there are no really good Coffee liquers. My mate is thinking about trying to make one. I will be Hawaiian coffee would be really fantastic.

• Go and look to one of @CothermanDistilling recipes for Coffee. Highly recommended ... page 3 of Gin thread.

CothermanDistilling

19 April 2016 12:47AM Flag