StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Best way to configure two element kits

I am currently working on welding two electric heating element kits into my kettle. Before I cut holes into my unit I am curious if there is any one better configuration -vs- another. Is there a concern with locating the heating elements to close in proximity to each othere within the solution; is it best to stack them one over the other on one side or weld the ferrules on opposing sides of the kettle one over the other. I have also read that some have been concerned that they had put their fill port over their elements. What would this affect? I am using a 15.5 gal. keg. I'm just getting started on this journey and have enjoyed reading the very informative blogs posted on many aspects of this new hobby. I have found alot of patience and respect for questions asked even when the person asking the question was concerned that it may be a dumb question. I may be asking some myself. Thanks

Best Answers

• edited September 2013 Answer ✓

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• edited September 2013 Answer ✓

Just a comment, with the element ports they do stick out a bit with guards and cables, so it may depend on where you have yours setup.

I've just had a keg done with 2 ports set fairly down low, but not opposite each-other, a bit offset so the elements cant touch. I did use the long ferrules however on mine.

The next one I'd chuck them more at the back of the keg, as it would suit my set up better (and get a bigger,18gal keg!)

Fadge

Answers

• Yes thank you very much. That is pretty much what I had in mind. Nice scooter.

• Don't mind me, I just wanted to mention the phrase ELEMENT GUARD to have it appear in the text, so that this discussion is properly found if searched for. ;)