Sub Pot in Boiler

I'm after some thoughts on this solution to a potential problem. I will preface this by saying I am new to distilling and still trying to get my head around the processes.

I'm trying to do a gin run with the gin head and when I did the first individual botanical runs I noticed that when doing the low charge runs I was getting very low abv. I'm assuming this is because of the high ratio of water to alcohol in the boiler. My proposed solution to this is to insert a deep pot in the neck of the boiler which takes the 45% abv spirit,then the boiler is filled with water submerging the sub pot. Essentially running it as a jacketed boiler where the boiling water then boils the spirit. Thus ensuring that you get a complete run through the gin head although you are only running a small amount. Oh and yes the milk can boiler is vented using the fill port a 45 , column and a vapor condenser to recycle the boiler water. I'll post pictures of the full set up tomorrow.

Cheers S

Comments

• Random new guy banging out some pretty trick looking stuff, out of nowhere.

That clamp on double boiler - genius, looks incredible.

Though I don't know that it has anything to do with your gin issue - what's the boiler charge abv?

• I am deducting since he says single botanical, he may only have a liter or a few liters diluted with all the water needed to cover the elements... so it kinda makes sense...

• Looks great and certainly thinking out of the box.. Only comment that I have is .... you now have a pressure cooker scenario IF this lip connects ontop of the boiler rim. This obviously can be quite a problem.

• edited July 2016

I think that's the point, he has a vent on the "jacket". By that little inner boiler having the lip, the existing clamp makes it air-tight from the jacket.

• edited July 2016

@si175 said: Oh and yes the milk can boiler is vented using the fill port a 45 , column and a vapor condenser to recycle the boiler water.

OR