Element Sizes

So heres a question I should probably know the answer to but don't... why do people limit themselves to 4.5-5.5kW output models? Why not go higher?

I feel like it may have something to do with available power of the facility or the cost of all the other components to make a controller but really don't know, hence asking you lot.

FYI, I ask this cos I'm STILL in the build phase and want to put together a 6x8kW element control system. Good times.

Also, hello all! (been a minute since I've been here)

Comments

• Off the cuff comment but I am sure someone can give a more precise and better answer;

1 Higher Amps and larger circuit breaker size
    2 Excessive wire size
    3 Not as readily available for when it requires replacement

• well the first and third Im personally not concerned about, I kinda figured those in to "reasons why not" list. Wiring I didn't think about, but I guess that falls into my bigger/more expensive everything. Im no electrical engineer so I guess a better question would be is what I want to make possible (within reasonable size/price) cos I don't see why not

• Startin from scratch? Do it how you want.
    It's usually existing circuits that govern your options.

• whole facility is from scratch so yeah zero restriction

• edited June 2016

I think because most of this was driven by the re-use of conventional water heater elements in home DIY/homebrew settings, so everything followed those limitations.

Honestly I agree, scrap the whole 5.5kw thing for the larger setups - a 50 amp 240v line isn't all that complex - and would provide enough headroom for 10kw. Or straight to 3 phase options.

8kw elements use a different thread size, correct? Or are entirely non-standard? Anyway, they are certainly harder to procure.

The wire sizing and SSR sizing is moot if you are pulling from scratch in a commercial setting. Upsizing by 1 wire gauge isn't going to move the needle much.