Element Height - Newbie Question!

Hi guys (and girls),

I'm a newbie to the wonderful world of distilling and enjoying every moment of the steep learning curve. I'm going to have numerous questions for the forumites in the near future - just hoping that I don't make a pest of myself in the process!

My hybrid artisanal set-up is as follows: 200L pot ,gooseneck cap, 6" sus column with 4 copper bubble plates, gin basket, 3" condenser column, parrot spout. I have put in the two elements and connected to the home-made charge controllers. Did my first ever stripping run and it worked perfectly. Phew!

It would appear that the element placement height is very well worked out by the designers. As soon as I smelt that we were hitting the tails I peered into the boiler and saw that the elements were only just covered, so the timing was perfect I guess (or just lucky - I dunno).

The question is this: are the elements placed at this specific height in the boiler for a reason? Why not place the elements (offset too would be better) as low as possible as in a kettle? When I initially switched on the boiler warmed up quite quickly, but the base of the boiler remained stone cold for a long time indicating a thermocline. Eventually it all boiled fine.

If I wanted to do a smaller batch in a 200L boiler it would be problematic because of the placement of the elements.

Can one get step-down elements to lower the element? Would you advise closing the element ports and machining new ones lower down? Or just leave as is? A bit confused...........

Comments

• edited April 2016

If you did a stripping run of 200 liters and made it to the bottom of the kettle, you did something wrong. What was the percentage on the hydrometer/parrot at that point?

Or did you strip a volume significantly less than 200 liters? This seems much more likely.