StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Stainless Steel Flanges

So I have 6 kegs and I will like some stainless steel flanges to make them into fermenters and maybe a boiler. I'm just new to all of this but happy to listen.

Comments

• Here you go.

Your Place to be >>> www.StillDragon.org <<< Home of the StillDragon® Community Forum

• I recommend 6" or 8", and buying one more than you need, so you can clamp two of them together to minimize warping when welding, and use proper welding practices to also minimize warping...

• Just use unmodified kegs.
    What you need is modified blanks.
    Easier in every respect.

• Correct size for a keg boiler for you is no more than a 4" ferrule for the collumn. This will allow you to run an element between 3 kW and 5.5 kW element without any problems.

In addition, remove part of the top chime (top ring) and install on the top dome an additional 3" ferrule for keg access. You can blank this off for closure. (the 3" ferrule causes proximity interferance to the chime.

Lift the keg up by welding legs to it and then underneath weld a 1/2" bend to the bottom centre and extend to terminate with a ball valve on underneath side.

An additional side ferrule will be required to fit and hold the heating element. This size is heating element boss size dependant.

• Rich you can simplify that a bit by just turning the keg upside down.
    The original 2" port becomes the drain and the larger column ferrule goes on what was the bottom of the keg.
    I can just get my arm in a 4" for cleaning but with a submersible pump in a 10-20lt bucket and a CIP spear on the outlet you can clean unmodified kegs very well. The keg just sits on the bucket with the spear/sprayball up through the 2" port and it drains back around the outside into the bucket again to continue circulating.