StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Dilution of Distillate

Hi, everyone.

I have been distilling for 3 years now and have recently obtained a 4 inch column still.
I am based in South Africa and mostly do rum and some "mampoer" (schnapps).
When I try to dilute my rum down to drinking strength it becomes hazy.

When I use 'n shot glass to taste the flavor and mix a small amount of distillate with reverse osmosis water, the product remains clear.
As soon as I try to dilute a larger quantity, it becomes hazy.
Does it have something to do with the amount of mixing?

In the shot glass the RO stream mixes the product vigorously, but the larger volume not as much.
Is it a problem with my cuts or just the way in which I dilute my spirits down?

Does anyone have an answer for me?

Thanks.
Anro

Comments

• As you probably know already, the haze is oils falling out of solution. Alcohol is not truly ambiphillic but does keep oils in better than water does. Adding a lot of water at once dilutes a small portion far more than once it mixes around, causing hydrophobic oils to form haze. From my reading, you can dilute down to 100 proof without problems, but take it slow from there. I generally work with 40-60 proof gallon batches, and add that last portion from 100 proof to 80 proof 3 gallons or less at a time. Rule of thumb would be no more than 5-10% of the volume with each addition, I guess. Someone else probably has better insight, but I haven't had any haze issues this way.