StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Pot Still Condenser Sizing?

Hi all,

A newbie here with first post, and probably a rather primitive question about a fundamental component issue. Am about halfway through my first 'build'.

I sure could use some suggestions or advice on how to size my planned Leibig condenser. Your thoughts would certainly be appreciated.

STILL stats:

1. 15.5 Gal SS beer keg, with insulation for improved 'up to heat' times
  2. 2" (now) or 3"( later, but preferable) plain pot still copper column about 6"-12" tall with copper reducer transition to a very short (6") horizontal 3/4" run to the condenser connection.
  3. 5500 watt ULWD HWH element mounted in a 2" Tri-clamp fitting, assuming it will fit through the SD Element Guard Kit and with the DIY Controller Kit.
  4. Will be using Bakers yeast or distillers yeast (max 10-12%), but NO high ABV yeasts such as "Turbos", etc.
  5. Mash: Nearly all corn with minimal added sugars, (and possibly 10-15% other grain mash).
  6. My main objective is to make some decent sipping high flavor Kentucky/Tennessee 'beverage'
  7. Aged at barrel entry proof of 120-140 proof
  8. Cut to 80 proof for bottling/sippin'.
  9. 6-10 runs per year, at most.
  10. Will also want to leave option open to experiment with an 'optional' reflux head, and/or 3-4 foot added section of copper mesh packed column in the future, however high ABV end-product is not my real goal, and I'm not much into neutral spirits.
  11. Might also try to make little rum...

Am looking a two options for the condenser:

1. 1/2" (product) in a 3/4" (water jacket) with 1/2" inlet and outlet water connections x ?? length, all copper.
  2. 3/4" (product) in a 1-1/2" (water jacket) with 1/2" inlet and outlet water connections x ?? length, all copper.

Both sizes could be up to about 28-30" long jacket length, (33-35" overall) to fit in my set up.