StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

How much Neutral Grain Spirit should be used in 50L Boiler and Gin Basket Setup

Hi, I hope you can help. I'm very new to the world of distilling and after experimenting with small capacity stove top copper column stills, I now have a 50ltr milk churn boiler with a 5.5kw heating element and gin basket set up, pretty much as pictured on the front of the excellent Gin - The StillDragon Way manual. I'd like to continue to tune in my recipes, but I'm unsure of the amount / ratio of water to Neutral Grain Spirit (96.5%) to put in the boiler while I experiment with botanical ratios etc. Is there an optimum 'rule of thumb' ratio.

Given that I'm very much at the experimentation stage, is there a minimum amount of NGS I can add while I continue to test and tune my gin recipes? If a small amount of NGS can be used should I have a maximum or minimum amount of water in the boiler?.

Apologies, if the answer to my question has been staring me in the face in the manual or forum.

Thanks in advance for any help, it really looks to be a very good forum - I'm sure I'm going to have more questions going forward.

Comments

• Its a valid enough question. There are differing opinions and hopefully some of the experienced gin folks will chip in.

• From a safety stand point if you cover your elements well with water before adding the GNS you will know that you will still have water covering the elements at the end of the run.

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• the volume of your gin basket may also limit how much neutral you want to put in..

ex: 20g/L of juniper and 10g/L of coriander would be a full basket at 10Liters (300grams)