Stripping Run vs. Spirit Run

Please bear with me as I'm very new to this.

I'm about to do my first fast stripping run with my new Baby CD (configured for a stripping run) followed by a slower spirit run. My question is how much of my first run do I need to do the spirit run. I have read... as long as it covers the elements (in my milk-can boiler) it is OK but what happens when the liquid boils off exposing the elements, if I add water to increase the volume before starting the spirit run... this would seem to undo the stripping run?

Comments

• Hi there. Best to do multiple ferments and strip each. Collect the strip and after 3-4 then do a spirit run.

Or, if you only have only one ferment, why don't you go straight into a spirit run?

• edited January 2016

Hi MiniMike

As Unsensibel says - you probably practically need a minimum of 2 strip runs per spirit run - watering down doesn't 'undo' the stripping run because you've removed the wash and only partially replaced it with water-it's been cleaned up in other words.

Doing one spirit run is certainly an option with your gear

Definitely don't expose your elements

The norm is to have a spirit charge at no more than 30% alc - so you either strip down until you reach that target, or stop stripping at a higher ABV and dilute to 30% or less

EG: a 40L wash @ say 8% might yield approx 2.8L 100% al or thereabouts accountng for losses - this would then give a 9.3L charge @ 30% - In that case I'd make it 10L @ 28%

This'll reduce to say 7.something litres over the spirit run - maybe ok depending on where you elements are located - But doing 2 stripped runs will give you a more practical roughly half boiler charge (I'm assuming a 50L boiler)

To some degree what you do depends what you want to achieve from the spirit..

Best of luck...

• edited January 2016

Thank you @Unsensibel & @Eucyblues that has made the process much clearer.