StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Having Troubles With Our Vodka

We are having trouble getting the 190 proof that we need to produce our vodka. I am new to using a column still and I am wondering if I am just thinking a little too much into it, or do I need to add more to the setup.

The setup:

• 100 gal Pot Belly
  • 6-8" columns
  • 4 Bubble Caps
  • 2 Perforated Plates
  • One of those is packed with parasmatic packing about 2" deep
  • The other is completely filled with Lava Rock

The best we have ever gotten is about 189.4 proof.

Please help! I am going nuts here.

Comments

• I think you need more plates

• We are limited on height. That's why we are trying the packing and lava rock. I guess we could start looking at going sideways.

• Most people have a short packed section on top of the plated section when going for neutral. Usually about 500mm. Maybe you could even try taking a plate or two off to allow more packing?

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• How many runs are you doing? With 6 plate, 2 runs should get you there no problemif you run slow, 3 if you run faster. In the future you're probably gonna want to go sideways if all you can fit is 6 plate (about 10ft total?) and want to save time/energy

• @toledowhiskeyman said: We are having trouble getting the 190 proof that we need to produce our vodka. I am new to using a column still and I am wondering if I am just thinking a little too much into it, or do I need to add more to the setup.

The setup:

• 100 gal Pot Belly
    • 6-8" columns
    • 4 Bubble Caps
    • 2 Perforated Plates
    • One of those is packed with parasmatic packing about 2" deep
    • The other is completely filled with Lava Rock

The best we have ever gotten is about 189.4 proof.

Please help! I am going nuts here.