StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

What's in your Basket?

So I recently started playing with my new toy the GB4. My first Run had cinnamon sticks in the basket to create a cinnamon style whiskey which went over well. I recently purchased 2 pounds of specialty malt. I plan to fill the basket with the malt and run it with a whiskey that I have already made cuts on. it Will be watered down in the boiler to 15%. Hoping to get a total abv of around 50 55% after running it down to around 10 abv. Very curious on how much flavor will transfer over this way. Yes I could do an all grain mash, but currently I'm only Running UJSM. Any thoughts or suggestions before I run it? I was contemplating on soaking the whiskey in the grain before I run it

Comments

• edited September 2015

I think you'll need a slightly higher starting abv unless you are running plates as well as the basket.
    Have a look at this thread for some potstill style practical numbers.

Calculating the Output ABV @ AD

I found around 28% was right for my setup for a 65% output.

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• @popcorn as long as you mill it you will pick up some flavor. On that note, you may want to add a little mesh tube or something to ensure the wet grain doesn't compact block your vapor path.

It really depends on what flavor profile you are looking for. We have had success steeping specialty malts to about 175F then cooling down a bit before adding in sugar. This brought out some really nice malt character. We have also added malt to wash post fermentation during boil up and distilling on-grain, which brings" out more grain character than malt. I preferred the former but the latter definitely gives a solid whiskey note. Downside Is you also should be using an agitator or jacket due to high risk of scorching.