StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Flavoured Vodka

Hi, I'm brand new to this and I would appreciate your advice. I'm looking to make flavoured vodkas on a small scale. Initially for development and very small production runs.

Would this configuration work?

• 2.2kW table top induction heater
  • 30L Stove Top Boiler
  • Weldless Tri-Clamp Bulkhead Fitting
  • Aroma Basket Kit GB4
  • 2" Pot Still Super Simple

What are the issues going to be with this? Any idea how long a single run would take? I already have the legal issues in hand.

I would aim to dilute 96% grain spirit down to, say, a 20% 25L solution in the pot and a single herb / spice to produce distillates for later cold-compounding. Does this sound right?

Jack

Remark by @Moonshine: Product names in reference to the StillDragon Europe website.

Comments

• Hey Jack. To make "vodka" you will have your hands full with that rig. You will either need some kind of packed column or plates or both. Not saying that it can't be done but you will have to run then re-run a bunch of times to get anything close to a vodka or neutral. I would try to get comfortable with distilling in general before worrying about herbs or spices.

This is a great site with a lot of help but don't ignore the search feature either. There is a great vodka thread here somewhere with recent posts.

Good luck.

• edited July 2015

Our best recommendation for using the 30L Stove Top Boiler for making vodka with a scent of flavor clearly is the 2+2.5" Baby Crystal Dragon™ Basic with 4 bubble sections. We know of some fantastic Apple Vodka and other products on the edge to flavor been produced with that configuration.

Our pot still configurations are also very popular, though it is way more time consuming having to deal with stripping and spirit runs, but some swear it's the right thing to do.