StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Crystal Dragon vs. Dash 2

Hello peoples,

I am new to this hobby having been gifted a very crude gas fired 30L-ish still from a family friend with dementia. As he can't explain to me how to use it, I initially was searching the web trying to learn how to use it which only created more questions. I realized that the setup was a bit average and figured I'd enjoy the project of building a new copper still then realized that for the cost of materials my time etc I was better off just buying a nice unit. So I did the rounds of the brewshops and they all pointed towards the T500 or similar based on a 30L boiler. Then I came across the Hillbilly Flute and thought that looks the business!! Then YouTube provided me with a comparison between the HB Flute and the Dash 2. So I ended up contacting @punkin who was extremely helpful and patient with my questions. He then threw a spanner in the works and suggested the Crystal Dragon as it is just so pretty and makes the distilling process quite visual.

So I am now trying to decide which way to go.

My spirit preference is dark rum, bourbon and honey bourbon, but I'll drink just about anything. I can see myself making neutral and using essences to get a selection of drinkables, but would really like to make rum and bourbon and age it to satisfy my creative mind. I would also like to acquire a gin basket down the track to experiment with. Will the weight hanging off the side of a CD be an issue?