StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Packed Column Size ?

I am new to the hobby and want to acquire an equipment that will allow me to run bubble plates, a 1m refluxed packed column and bubble-packed combos. I plan on running all as CMs. My objective for the column is not to produce absolute neutral but rather delicately flavored vodkas, white rums, gin base and fruit schnapps.

What is clear now is that I will purchase a Dash 1.

For the packed column, I considered 2", 3" and 4" sizes. After doing various calculations it seem that the 4" column actually comes in the cheapest considering that I will have all the parts from the Dash. I understand that packing will be a bit more expensive, but I can live with that.

I have a 50 L keg boiler with a 4" welded ferrule and a controlled 5.5kW element. I consider speed to be an important element.

My questions:

• Are there some obvious downsides to a 4" column, with regards to a 2" or 3"?
  • Does it retain a lot of liquid?
  • Is is still possible to run a 20-25 L wash in a 4" column?

Best Answer

• BS, if I may call you that, a Dash2 with 6 plates will give a better "delicately flavored vodkas, white rums, gin base and fruit schnapps" because the 2 extra plates, vs a Dash1, will do just exactly that.

"Are there some obvious downsides to a 4" column, with regards to a 2" or 3"?"
    None, 4" just runs faster than a smaller diameter size.

"Does it retain a lot of liquid?"
    Yes, there is some liquid on the plates after distilling. But we are modular so you can break down your Dash into pieces if you wish and run them through your dishwasher. Can you do that with any other still?

"Is is still possible to run a 20-25 L wash in a 4" column?" Absolutely. Me, us, everybody do it all the time.

Answers

• No downsides, speed should be good, no liquid retention, get it and have fun... Where are you located? Country wise?