StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Columns lower than the Pot

A message from @marcus that I found in our Activity feed and reposted here on his behalf:

@marcus said: I am building a still but the columns are lower than the pot. Is it just a case of adding a pump? Any help would be great, thanks.

Your Place to be >>> www.StillDragon.org <<< Home of the StillDragon® Community Forum

Comments

• edited May 2015

@marcus, I can only guess you mean to pump the liquid from the bottom of the columns back into the boiler? I'm not a pump expert, so someone else with more knowledge on that matter may be able to help on what's the best solution for that problem.

StillDragon Europe - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Europe & the surrounding area

• what i was concerned about is when the condensate gathers at the bottom of my column when its pumped away will it cause a vacuum and empty the plates

• edited May 2015

First off, pumping reflux is a potentially dangerous endeavor. In a standard boiler mounted column, or a high side mount column, you have a very safe gravity feed to ensure the reflux returns to the boiler. For what you are describing, you need a pump, and with pumps come a risk of leaks and the other risks of pumping highly flammable liquids (electrics, sparks, etc). Assume your reflux is near your output abv, which means you are potentially pumping very high abv compared to the wash in the boiler.