StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Packed Column Length

The standard StillDragon 4" packed column is 510mm. If I were to increase this length to say 1000mm or 1300mm (because I have a piece 1300mm long ) will I gain any benefit or drawback from a long length?

Comments

• Height is for purity mate, a packed column at 20x your column diameter will deliver a lovely neutral at azeo. Are you planning on running plates and a packed section or just a packed section?

• Thanks mech. I'm new to this so I'm going to start on neutrals and go from there. So at 1300 my column/diameter ratio is 13. I was planning to run both plates and the packed section eventually. So at 1300mm I should get a decent product?

• edited April 2015

Here's a calculation from HD website

• SPP in a 3" column is approx 1 plate per inch of column height... using big swede's SPP not sure about 4" if your just going for neutral ... Scoria packing is good and is really cost effective... SS Scrubbies are on the chart that was referenced

• edited April 2015

102mm diameter 1300mm long

Height Equivalent of Packing (HETP): 0.098 m
    Number of Theoretical Plates : 14.3 = (height/HETP) + 1 for pot
    Approx Vapour Purity : 95.1 %

Seems like this should work ok.

So if I put a bubble plate in the mix, does it go above the SPP or below it? What will it do in either position?

• If I were to put a plate in with a packed section the packed section would always be at the top. At 14 HETP I wouldn't bother myself, if you have it available and you have the space available...I'd pack scrubbers on top of that plate. Just leave out the caps and downcomers etc, using the place as support for your packing.

That tee for the bubble cap section has gotta be around 150mm?, that's an extra 150mm of packing you could use.