New guy Savannah, GA area...anyone near by?

edited March 2015 in Introduction

Hey all,

I’m very new to this hobby and will most likely have many questions. I did my research and decided on a SD 4” bubble cap Dash. I’m hoping I didn’t bite off more than I can chew but didn’t want to waste money on something I might “outgrow” in a year or so. There is so much to learn and so much info written on this hobby. The forums are a great resource and I have spent what ever free time I have reading on this subject.

I have cleaned my still with a vinegar and water wash and ran a sacrificial cheap box wine and water wash through it too. Now I am fermenting a UJSSM which is separated into two 5.5 gallon(20L) fermenters. The first fermenter is 7 lbs of cracked corn and 1.5 lbs of malted barley along with 7 lbs of brown sugar topped off with distilled water to make up the 5.5 gallons. then pitched the yeast and yeast nutrients at 74F. The second fermenter is similar except I gave a go at converting some corn to fermentable sugar. I heated 2.5 gallons of RO water to 165F added 5 lbs cracked corn stirred for 10 minutes and then stirred off and on over the next 20 minutes. Then reduced the temp to 145F added 1.5 lbs malted barley to convert the starch to sugar and put all that in a cooler to maintain the temp for 90 minutes. Then put the mash grains and all into the second fermenter added 4 lbs brown sugar and 2 lbs cracked corn and cooled to 94F pitched the distillers yeast and yeast nutrients. First fermenter had a OG of 1.068 and second one had OG of 1.060 with both at a PH of 5.0. When they are done bubbling I’ll do a stripping run on both of them and store the low wines in a glass carboy until I can ferment 40L more and strip that to add to it, to do a spirit run. Does this process seem OK?

I also have some questions:

1. Do you need to have any cooper in the vapor path during a stripping run?