StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

8" ProCap Plate - Is 12 Caps really better than 8 or 9?

I sit and watch my ProCap plates, I can't help but think there is not enough free area between them... but I am not experienced enough to really know...

@Lloyd - did you ever try 8 or 9? (1 in the center and 7 or 8 around)

Comments

• The center on the 8" plate is for the reflux via the flow directors.

• Huh? only the center three ProCaps flow directors can reach the center, not the 9 outside ones, correct?

FYI - I stopped using them, just use plate rotation.. in a dash where you could reach in and move them, maybe more useful.

OK, correction - one slightly off center(10-15mm) ProCap, and 7 or 8 ProCaps in a circle surrounding it, so you can alternate the plates and not have to use flow directors..

• edited February 2015

Would probably work, but you'll hit a limit where they aren't any better than the old style caps. More caps means lower vapor speed through the tray, which is desirable. Greater the active tray area, the greater the tray efficiency.

• The issue shouldn't be regarding the flow directors.

The issue is the total area of all the slots relative to the area of the plate. The only reason to reduce the cap number would be if there was a increase in performance from doing so.

• if making a 12 plate still, there is another reason.... $$$$... but the $$$$ isn't all that much in the grand scheme of things, just throwing out there that I think they kinda look crowded when they operate... heck, maybe that is a good thing... I dunno....

• @grim said: Greater the active tray area, the greater the tray efficiency.

I was thinking the longer you have the vapor in contact with the liquid the greater the efficiency... providing sufficient vapor was moving up the column and into the fluid bed..... Is my thinking skewed?