Maximum Proof of Still charge with Electric Immersion heaters?

I am interested in how high of proof people have run in a boiler with electric immersion heaters? I know you can safely run 40%. Has anyone run higher safely? 50%? 60%. Again I am interested in Electric Immersion heaters. 5500W Elements. With external heat I know you can run very high % but at what point do you really risk (BOOM).

Comments

• An interesting subject RDD. My thoughts would be below "proof" plus a safety margin (ie the point at which an alcoholic liquid ignites). Although would you also take into consideration the vapour as well?

At the end of the run, the elements should have enough liquid covering them, to provide a "safety blanket" if one does blow or arcs across. Naturally you would have your rig properly electrically protected and earthed.

I am by no means an expert in this field or have any background knowledge in this subject. I'm just a sparky, but I'm also interested in other members' opinions.

• Rednose on another forum regularly runs a still charge of ~50% and I have as well.
    It made me nervous at first (simply because I was told to keep the still charge below 40% on the distilling forums, always without any supporting science) but I figure as long as the elements are covered it doesn't much matter what the ABV of the still charge is. It's not the alcohol that ignites and burns but the alcohol vapors.

• From the safety point of view your concern is the flash point of the vapour inside the boiler - I think. From a quality point of view there is an issue that the tails will not effectively be separated if the still charge is above 40%. There are many reasons for diluting the boiler charge to lower than 30% and if you look at most of the distilleries they typically charge the boiler at 28%.