DIY Element Controller Kit

edited March 2015 in Configuration

Something I've been playing with for a couple of months - the DIY element controller kit that is more securely packaged.

We had custom cardboard individual and master carton boxes made for the bare bones kit to help condense, package and protect them for shipping. The master carton holds 12 DIY kits and condenses the bulky sea freight components into concise and ready to ship units.
The vast majority of the DIY kits so far have been ordered by customers with the one website click for all the bits instead of a customized kit so it seems we nailed what was needed, now we want to get it to you packed in a box that was actually made for it instead of the distributors needing to assemble the kits together and find a box to fit it.

More details to follow as this project develops and the boxes have just now finally arrived after only 5 long weeks of waiting for them.

Going to list and photograph every little bit so we get this right because we'll be assembling several hundred units.

I'd like to include the hook up wire for the potentiometer and maybe even have the terminals soldered on if you guys don't mind paying a few cents more. We'll discuss all that over the next few days or so as we order the parts to fill the boxes.

This is going to be a fun project. Lets keep it simple and low cost OK? The idea is to make it better, not more expensive, and adding too much custom stuff adds to the costs.

Comments

• So far, adding the cardboard boxes is a wash because it condenses the shipping.
    Before, all the components were shipped separately and the very light weight plastic boxes meant shipping expensive air. By packaging all of the controller parts inside the plastic boxes, even after accounting for the added labor, it saves a few cents while, at the same time, insuring that all the little parts are included and packaged in a nice shipping carton.