Complete Beginner

Just introducing myself here.

I am a complete beginner having never done any distilling or beer making. I think It is the fear of getting caught and the way that can ruin a future, if I were to run a still, that stopped me. Here in Canada they make it very hard to get any hands on experience at distillation. So being brave or a fool, I haven't decide yet, I'm looking to set up a licensed micro distillery. I don't have unlimited funds but I also don't want to go too small that there is no profit once every one else is paid. I'm open to being educated by those that have gone before. I would rather here about mistakes than make them myself. If any of you are running your own Dash2 and can give a guy a road map to making good spirits and not go broke, then I'm all ears. I'm thinking along the lines of the 380 liter boiler running a 8" Dash2 and 8 plates. To keep this up and running how many fermentation tanks and what ever else is needed.

Comments

• Hi and welcome @Douglas.
    Before spending any money I'd suggest that you visit as many micro-distilleries as possible. Even work for one as an apprentice if possible.
    I think most would be willing to share their startup experience with you. Also, there are distilling teachers available that charge a modest fee to help you put forth a plan to success.

Rusty Figgins, master distiller, comes to mind. He has a week long training class every 3 months.

Rusty Figgins business card-1.jpg
    521 x 305 - 31K
  • I have been to a few distillers here in Vancouver BC but they all seem to be using the big European stills (Carls, Bavarian Holsteins etc.) and have more money invested than I have access to. I plan to go down to Red Door in Everett Wa. as he seems to be running the type of set up I'm thinking of for myself. This is a complete lifestyle change from my former job (driving bus) and its one that will allow me to pass something to my kids when that time comes verses just the job.