StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Compressing Heads

I'm new to this plated still stuff and want to know what compressing your heads is all about.

Any help would be fully appreciated!

Comments

• edited February 2015

Hi BVM,

For a distiller, Heads is where the hang over lives.

Compressing heads refers the process of allowing the lowest boiling point alcohols to rise to the top of the apparatus in such a way so that the heads compounds are able to be slowly drawn off. By drawing off heads slowly, the distiller greatly reduces the likelihood of heads compounds being included into the hearts body of the run.

Heads are generally undesirable but with some spirits, a small measure of heads can install some pleasing qualities into the finish product.

Others will chime soon to help clarify this process.

StillDragon North America - Your StillDragon® Distributor for North America

• Cheers Smaug for the info im currently reserching all this info here to move from the T500 copper edition to a ace of hearts it seems like is a more hands on process but a more finer product produced im sure practice makes for a perfect product

• My understanding of compressing heads is that the foreshots and heads are concentrated up in the very first runnings by keeping the reflux at 100% at the beginning of the run. The fs/heads are highly purified into the smallest volume possible so that they can slowly be removed without them "smearing" into the hearts.

But then again, what do I know? I think the Marx Brothers were the apex of 20th century comedy.

I'm more like I am now than I was before.

• edited February 2015

Heads compression is always desirable for those trying to render a neutral product.