StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Dash 1 Hybrid Configuration for 65-70% ABV Bourbon Run

Hey guys,

First of all hi to everyone, my name is Carl and I was hoping that someone with a little experience might be kind enough to lend some advice to a noob. I am quite new to distilling and I have managed to get myself hooked from the get go! I love it!

I recently bought the 4" Dash 1 with four plates and reflux column to complete what I believe to be a fantastic hybrid still for a hobby distiller. I have had two runs through it so far, an all grain mash for vodka which was a complete failure for my first run but taught me a great deal about mashing and general operation of this beautiful still, and a second bird watcher sugar mash which produced about 2L of 93%, quite happy with myself at this stage.

I plan on attempting my first bourbon run and just wondering if anyone could help with advice for a good configuration for producing a 65-70% ABV?

Currently my still is setup in hybrid mode with all four plates and a 500 mm packing column packed with 6 stainless steel scrubbers. I was thinking to just remove my scrubbers and having a crack with different temp setting. Currently I have 2 x 2400 w elements (one with power control) and what I did for my last neutral run was cranked at full heat until second from the top plate was bubbling then switching off one element and reducing to 75% power on the other, things worked pretty well and I had a nice stream running and collected 250 ml fores, 1000 ml heads, 1500 ml hearts and the rest tails which was pretty spot on for the content calculation.

I will be mashing a bourbon recipe (see below, any opinions would be welcome) and I'm just a little unsure what the best config would be. I don't want to scorch the run so I will be fermenting off the grain and allowing to clear as much as possible before I siphon for the run.