Which spiced rum to try?

edited January 2020 in General

Doing some R&D on spiced and aged rum.

I'm a novice. Which ones should I try?

Ones that don't feel mass produced.

Only one I have tried recently is "The Kraken" by Proximo Spirits.

Not that keen on it.

Comments

• Definitely try Siesta Key . If you are REALLY lucky, get a bottle of their Distiller's Reserve Spiced. They release it once a year and it is absolutely incredible. Made using the solera method.

FC

• edited February 2020

Really like this rum:

Really smooth.

Thing is it is only 35% ABV. Which in Europe is technically not rum. Needs to be minimum 37.5% in Europe.

Maybe because it is made in Barbados and imported.

If you are a rum connoisseur then it might not be for you. There is a strong banana element to it.

bumbu-spiced-rum.jpg
    248 x 600 - 30K
  • Often times 35% is code for back sweetening.

StillDragon North America - Your StillDragon® Distributor for North America

• technically, it is 'Flavored Rum', as indicated by the "Rum with Natural Flavors" class/type description which must be present on all products in the US. so it also likely has far more sugar than the 25g/liter (which is a lot by itself) of 'Rum'.

• edited February 2020

@Smaug and @CothermanDistilling

I've been reading some review sites, where they do hydrometer tests. From that, they can deduce how much additives (mostly sugar) are added.

Their results seem to correlate pretty accurately with what the producer admits to adding.

Something I never knew. Some of the commercial rums have a LOT of sugar added to them.

Some as much as a 100g per litre.

Tests here:

Hydrometer Tests @ TheFatRumPirate.com

• Sure. There is an entire sector of consumers that have no idea, and mostly don't care.

Rum geeks want it to resonate as sweet on the palette but not be sweet on the tongue.

StillDragon North America - Your StillDragon® Distributor for North America

• edited February 2020