StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Reflux Column Temperatures

I recently purchased "The Bells and Whilstles, Dash 2" And have run into a few issues when trying to use it...

I am completely new to this and so my question probably really simple and hopefully easy to fix... I am having some issues controlling the temperature at the head of the reflux column.

From what I have read in a number of books is that the foreshots should come off at 65 Degrees and then Ethanol at 78 Degrees however I just cant get these temperatures at the head of the column. Instead everything seems to come off at much lower temperatures (58-61 for foreshots & then it just wont go above around 70 Degrees).

I have tried running a high heat and high coolant flow and low heat and low coolant flow plus everything inbetween and just cant seem to get the temperatures I read about in the books.

Should I be worrying about these temperatures or should I just be worrying about the flow out of the parrot? What sort of settings do others run similar set ups on, I would be keen to know as its driving me mad not being able to control what appears to be something so simple!

Comments

• Worry more about flow at the parrot and ABV. Fores will come out early and you'll be able to smell them easily.

• Thanks, I am finding that the ABV is 95-96% and I’m getting better control of the flow at a lower temp setting with lower flow through the dephlegmator but the column head is hanging just below 60 Degrees.

• When you are learning how to distill, thermometers are counterproductive. Set aside the thermometers, learn how to distill with out them, and then once you understand how it works, you can start using them again.

• Thanks for the advise, I was thinking that would be the case.