StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Help with risk identification

Hi everyone!

Very long time since I made a topic here. I am up and running my small distillery now and my still from StillDragon is making a wonderful job. This autumn I have been to a few events and I have received so much positive reviews. I love my still!

The Swedish FDA want me to describe the hazards in the mashing and distillation processes. I feel that I am stuck and need some help to identify the risks. Of course it is not hard to identify methanol, acetone, acetaldehyde as risks and what to do to avoid having them in the final product. But what about the tails? As a rum producer I collect quite a bit of the tails and there we have the fusel oils.

Any other risks I need to consider in the processes?

Comments

• What specifically are they asking you? If they are not being specific you should ask them to be.

There are multiple kinds of risks. You might need to address risks to staff while working, visitors on a tour/contractors doing work for you and also obviously the end consumer drinking the stuff.

Also, risks come in various forms (physical, chemical, microbial, allergen...)

Perhaps start by making a process flow diagram, number the steps, and for each step right down the potential risks no matter how trivial or unlikely they seem

• Have a serious think about everything you do. Without much effort, I have thought of the following in no order...