StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Pump type ideas and 220v breaker size?

Newbie here. I bought a Crystal Dragon 4" with pro caps and Dephlegmator. I am bought this last year but events have kept me from putting it together. Now I have my 220v outlet installed with a 30 amp breaker. Do you feel that is enough or should I go bigger? Second question is water.... I do not have a water source to pull directly from so I will have to tank it. What pumps do you guys recommend to pull water from a tank and to flush the water out when complete? Thanks for answer a newbie question but I searched for pumps and came up with nothing of note.

Thanks.

Comments

• edited March 2017

Cheap submersible sump pump works fine. Put a bypass valve on it for good measure.
    I don't know where you are but this is the type of thing i'm talking about.

Submersible Pumps @ Bunnings Warehouse AU

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• Sorry. Yeah. New England area.. USA.

• So using a sump pump for hours and hours to push water through the still should be ok? Have you had one burn out?

• No, i used 12 volt boat bilge pumps for the first eight years, they are still going strong too.

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• Awesome! Thanks!!

• How does this work in USA ? Your line voltage is 120 V so to have a 220 v outlet it is either a three phase outlet or uncommonly two single phases with 220v between them. So i assume when you say 220v 30 amps you actually have a three phase outlet with a 30 three phase breaker. For us we have 240 volt single phase and 415 volt three phase and mostly our heaters would be 240v single phase units. The frequency difference 50 vs 60 is basically irrelevant.