StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

Distiller wannabe..

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here and in this field... I'd like to start a production of 25 liters per day of whiskey and/or gin. Does anybody know what kind of StillDragon equipment i might need?

Any suggestion is well appreciated :)

P.S. I apologize in advance for my English, not my first language.

Comments

• Need more information.

What is your power? Electric? Steam?

What is your plan for whiskey - on grain or off-grain (lautered)? On-grain processes will require steam jacket or bain marie.

Are you leaning more towards gin or whiskey - as these require very different column configurations.

Sizing? Probably 380 liters and an 8" column.

• Were about are you from

• If you have access to steam, that would be best, then next would be direct electric.

I suggest a 380L steam or bain-marie boiler with agitator for the wash, and then you can use a 50-120 l boiler that is steam/bain-marie, or electric to make the 25L of final spirit...

I see you state Italy, I am not sure of the regulations there, but here in the US, a consultant that knows the codes well enough to convince the city officials what the code really means is a plus.

I tasted some good homemade spirits in my friend's italian hometown of Assergi (Gran Sasso)... all except the Timo.. (thyme liquer) that was horrible!

• edited July 2016

Also, you need to be a little more precise what product you're going for.

Gin isn't the same as whiskey. If you want to make your own base spirit, you need to go more for a neutral that you can re-distill as gin.

Whiskey, 380L is the way to go. 6" or 8" column depending on the speed. Number of plates depending on flavor you're looking for (2-4).

• The other question is how much money do you have or can afford to spend.

• edited July 2016

Hi Drake!

Welcome!