StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

TPW

jezjez
edited December 2015 in Beginner's Talk

Hi all,

I'm new here and loving all the info and post's. I'm wanting to do a TPW and wondering what's the best temp to keep it?

I've never done one before and have only done what my local brew shop offers 8kg of sugar and turbo yeast in a 25lt fermenter (please don't shot me I'm new remember). I'm in Adelaide and it"s been in the 40 degrees the last few days and looking like it will be for a few more days. I have a 2.5" Crystal Dragon on order and have a 50lt keg ready to go. Any help and info would be great.

Merry Christmas to all

Comments

• If you simply follow the normal tpw recipe and use the lowens bakers yeast it will be ok. The high 40's will not be ideal, anywhere between 20 and 35 seems to be good. Another member on here also around your city uses a different yeast ec1118 and has some very good information on the advantages over the cheap bakers yeast. I personally use the bakers yeast. Ferments take 4/6/8 weeks in cold winter, but around 2 weeks in good weather. We have 44 degrees forecast as well (nth vic murray region) and l would not bother making up a tpw until the change comes through. Once it's had a few days to do most of the work then higher temps don't appear to affect it as much in my experience. I have 3 barrels of tpw ready, made about 6 weeks ago, as the temp rises they still burble through the air lock every now and again due to expanding and some action as l can hear it when placing my ear against the barrel.

And welcome to the forum.

Cheers Fadge

• @jez said: I've never done one before and have only done what my local brew shop offers 8kg of sugar and turbo yeast in a 25lt fermenter (please don't shot me I'm new remember).

Welcome @jez, and say NO to the turbo yeast!