New member in NZ keen to learn

edited June 2013 in Introduction

Hi everybody,

It is nice to be posting here for the first time. I am a newbie distiller and bought a T500 still about 9 months ago. While the T500 has been a wonderful way to start and an easy way for me to learn I really do want more so I started searching online. Obviously I found Stilldragon and here I am. Firstly the reason for my research was that I want to be able to make proper spirit without using essences. Corn whiskey and rum but also gin and super clean vodka. When I came across flute style stills their beauty was captivating and the modular dragon system appeals greatly. I have searched and searched and there isn't a lot of info about the final product however. I'd really like to know what people think of the spirit they collect. How is their whiskey? Is the flavour full even when distiller at a higher proof? I have read that these kinds of stills provide a full flavored product even at high proofs but is there any in depth reviews online that could give me more info? Can any members here share their experiences with me?

What I was thinking of was putting together a hybrid pot still with a pair of bubble plates at the base. Does anyone have a set up like this? What do they make and how does it tastes. I'd love to know.

Cheers, Damo.

Comments

• Welcome Damo. The answers to all your questions will be provided by the members here. :)>-

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand

• Welcome, Dano. I'm sure you will be happy with the SD products.