Help With New Setup

Hi all,

I'm new to SD forum, been reading from afar. My friend and I are setting up a distillery in the UK and would like some help regarding SD products.

I have the task of finding the best setup that will suite or needs.

• I like the look of the 4" CD, but unsure of the practical use day in day out. Maybe the 4" Dash would be better?
  • If we go for the Dash can I put 1 bubble plate from the CD in, so people can see what happens in the rest?
  • Should we go pro or not?

We're getting 1lt/hr from a T500 at the moment and would like to get 3 maybe 4lt/hr. We're wanting flavour from the beer to come through to the product, so we don't strip run. Not sure how many plates to run,we would like to get 85 to 90%.

We will be setup in a brewery, so we will be putting off beer (to recover costs of wastage) around 4% through the still and dedicated 10-12% brews for distilling. So, it'll be unlikely to be used for clear (colourless) washes.

We have a 220ish litre boiler with 4 x 3kw elements which is used on the brewery side. I'm planning on putting a controller on 1 of the elements so we can achieve different wattage other than 3,6,9 or 12kw.

At the moment the lid on the boiler is flat and the centre hole is for a T500 fitting. Are we better off using the adapter for the T500 to 4" or recutting the hole to fit a 4" ferrule. Does having an adapter affect in any way the efficiency of the still?

I'm sorry, as you can see the questions just mount up. Hope it makes sense. I apologise if these have been answered before, but finding all the answers is difficult (even with the search facility). I appreciate any help you can give.

Thanks

Comments

• My recommendation would be to slow down a little.

• Why do you want to start a distillery?
    • How much research have you done?
    • How much money so you have to back up this dream?
    • What do you how to achieve?
    • Why do you think you'll make a success of this?

Cheers,

Mech