StillDragon® Community Forum

Welcome!

Be part of our community & join our international next generation forum now!

In this Discussion

School Recommendations

I was wondering if the SD family had any recommendations for Distilling schools or if I should even bother. I have been doing this unprofessionally for a long time and am about to start a business but there are a lot of things that I have not messed with yet. A lot of I's I want to Dot before I want to jump in the big leagues. I have no experience with grain, nor do I have a clue how to use professional equipment. The business side of it wont be to much of a problem since I will have my business degree soon. I just really want to do this right. I have found 5 day workshops of all price ranges, and even one on one training. I'm just wondering what y'all have heard or if one of you pros want to take me under your wing.

Comments

• How do you get to Carnegie Hall?

I'm more like I am now than I was before.

• ummm... one step at a time?

• edited March 2015

Take 6th towards Central Park and make a left on 57th.

Seems like nearly every brand new distillery is selling a class on how to be an expert at running a distillery a month after they open their doors. Probably would avoid those.

That said, having worked with Dave Dunbar, who is part of the SIPS team, and Rusty Figgins being a friend of this community, why go anywhere else? I hadn't. But had I known then what I know now, I'd probably have gone there.

• edited March 2015

I did a two day at 45th Parallel in Wisconsin who have been providing classes for close to 10 years. The class is very laid back, but hands on. You mash two batches, and then do a low and high whiskey run as well as a vodka run.

45th Parallel Distillery - Distilling Training

• Worldwide community mate, it would help if you said where you wanted to take a class.

StillDragon Australia & New Zealand - Your StillDragon® Distributor for Australia & New Zealand